Question: Are we required to train all California supervisors/managers and non-supervisory employees in harassment prevention (AB1825 and SB 1343)?
Answer: Yes. If you have 5 or more employees or contractors, you are required to train all managers/supervisors and non-supervisory employees in California within six months of assumption of a position. Temporary and seasonal employees (hired for more than 30 days and less than six months) must be trained within the first 30 calendar days of hire or within 100 hours worked, whichever occurs first. If you have a manager/supervisor that lives in another state but supervises California employees, the manager/supervisor should also be trained in California Harassment Prevention.
Non-supervisory employees must receive at least one hour of harassment prevention training and supervisors/managers must receive at least two hours of harassment prevention training by January 1, 2021 and every 2 years thereafter.
The law calls out specific topics that must be covered in the training. Only trainers and educators who are “qualified” under the CA Code of Regulations may conduct the training.
Silvers HR has several training options for you to meet this requirement. We recommend reaching out to your HR Consultant or visiting our training page here to review these options.